Day Two

Day Two.

Hello to readers of the Five Day Dash! I hope you all enjoyed my little, fluffy story about what is going on with me this week, but today we are really going to get into it.

I was sincerely hoping to have this posted a few hours ago, but I wanted to actually have a head start on my hard copy half of  The Journal project. I’ve set myself up for a successful and productive evening. My roommate Alycia, and I are currently working in the Russell Hall newspaper office, where I can access the software I need to create something amazing!

This is the desk I usually occupy on Tuesday evenings for our school newspaper, the Exponent, design nights. Monday is just fine for what I am working on right now. A little Pandora Radio and some caffeine are also a little helpful.

What is exciting is that all day I have been thinking about what stories I am going to tell about my path to where I am today. There are so many, I don’t know what will make the final cut. I have also sketched a bunch of ads promoting myself. Along with that, I have done some research on design ideas for my hard pages.

I haven’t been so inspired to work this hard in a very long time. Well, unless I have my Dad pushing me to work a little harder on our family farm. Having said that, I’ve decided to promote my dream of becoming an agricultural journalist. I want to insert as much about my passion for the both the journalistic and agricultural industries, because they are both the biggest influences in my life.

“Farming looks mighty easy when your plow is a pencil and you’re a thousand miles from the corn field.”

– Dwight D. Eisenhower

I have been on both sides of this quote, pulling the plow and using the pencil. Without my love of the written word and the commitment of farming I would not be the person I am today.

Thanks Mom and Dad, without you and the cows I would have never made it this far.

Wish me luck!

Alyssa B.

One thought on “Day Two

Leave a Reply

