No Rest

The very first family member to welcome me home!

This sign sits in our front yard. It reminds us that we are a family and in this together. This is our life.

After another successful year of journalism at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville, I am finally home in Gleason, Wisconsin. With my furniture moved into a new cozy apartment, classes selected for next fall and four hours of driving home, I am now ready to start a laborious, educational and fun summer on the farm.

This awful picture is of my lovely dog, Cas, and I. He jumped into the car when I opened the door, so I guess he was pretty excited to see me.

This morning, however, I had the pleasure of learning that I would be filling our corn planter with multiple buckets of fertilizer. My hands are painfully red and will have well-developed callouses by tomorrow. Same drill tomorrow, but on a positive note, I will be milking cows.

We put in about nine acres of corn today with our four-row John Deere planter.

Dad planting corn, like a boss. (AKA… he is the boss.)

Tomorrow, there are plans for more planting, lawn mowing and whatever other projects that Dad comes up with.

I slept in today, until 9:30 a.m.  Jumped into work at about 10:00 a.m. Tomorrow, I’ll be up bright and early around 5:00 a.m. to milk the lovely ladies (my cows).

Until then, this is my first farming blog of the summer with many more to come. Questions about anything? Just let me know!

Alyssa B.

Leave a Reply

