Silos and Stuff

Well it sure is a chilly one out there today, with only a high of 57 degrees. A bit unnatural compared to the lo

Inside the empty silo we worked in today. The unloader hangs by a cable. (It will hang in the very top white area.)

vely 70’s weather we’ve been experiencing in the last few weeks. But, it is still spring, so this is actually more normal than we think.

The hay we cut yesterday did not dry enough even for silage bales, so Dad cut 5 1/2 more acres while I took the pup to the vet and ran errands in town. (Cas survived the shot and didn’t even wince!)

This is Bag Balm. It is like lotion, but for cows. We use it to help reduce swelling and cracks on their udders after they have babies. I use it on my hands too, and I would highly suggest it to anyone! It has a minty smell and works magic. (My dog likes to eat it too.)

Before evening chores, we did raise the silo unloader in our largest silo. A silo unloader is what “unloads” silage from the silo to the chute connected to the barn. This way we can efficiently feed the cows, and not use shovels to empty the silo. It needs to be raised to the top before we chop hay and fill the silo, because we will not be able to use it if it is buried by feed.

I thought I would photograph some fun stuff that directly related to milking and evening chores, so that everyone can start to gather a better idea of what “chores” actually entails.

My favorite is this little guy eating. This is the baby boy we had a few days ago. We feed the calves milk twice per day after each milking. He is still drinking his mother’s milk, but obviously not directly from her. The calves are not kept with the mothers because it is easier for us to ween them onto water.

He is doing some serious work on that milk!

Any questions?

Peace,

Alyssa B.

9 thoughts on “Silos and Stuff

  1. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  2. Someone essentially lend a hand to make critically posts I would state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and so far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular publish amazing. Fantastic job!

  3. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like it. As for tips, I am just as inexperienced as you! I just started writing as often as possible. Find similar topics and write what you think! That is all I do 🙂

  4. Greetings! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

Leave a Reply

