Joanie Time

My Dad’s mom’s name is Joan. Or Grandma. But for me, she is Joanie. It has been that way for a few years now, and she likes it. She takes no offense to me dropping the “Grandma” title, and now my other family members are starting to catch on in calling her that. She even signs my birthday cards with, “Love Joanie.” She is quite amazing and I never have a bad time when I am with her.

One of the things I love about Joanie is that she tells the most hilarious jokes. They are cute, corny and always will bring a smile if you are quick witted enough to get the punch line. For example, “Well if that doesn’t resemble someone with one foot in the grave and the other on a banana peel!” (This is more of an expression, but whenever I hear it I nearly die of laughter.)

The reason I am talking about my kindhearted, loving and gentle granny is that today, Dad and I found some time to be with her. I was going to mow her lawn, but she said to wait for another week or so. Therefore, I had the privilege of taking her shopping and she rewarded me with lunch! She always has a list of things she needs and will make sure that everything is collected in the cart. (But if it’s too expensive, “we can just get it at Wal-Mart.”)

She is just a gem and I cannot imagine my life without her.

After we entertained Joanie for a few hours, we made our merry way back to the Homestead. There was hay to be raked, tedded, baled and hauled. All was accomplished. Dad even did a little raking… it’s been a while since he has demoted himself to such an EASY job, which is usually saved for me and my simplistic array of skills.

Milking cows tonight was another story. First, I noticed that we were going to have another baby, and we did at about 7:40 p.m. It’s another strapping young boy. Second, the cows were just awful to me tonight. They were really antsy, which caused them to kick and move and swat their tales like whips. For me, this is a hostile working environment. 🙂

I feel that it was my fault though. I was practicing for my eventual debut on American Idol… I mean, I was singing “A Whole New World” from Aladdin with very poor tone. Being antsy was just the cows way of saying “shut up, because you are a horrid singer.” Well, that’s what I tell myself.

Sorry I missed a post last night. I found an opportunity to be asleep by 8:30 p.m., so I took it. All you missed was the knowledge that Dad has been cultivating our corn and I cut hay.

If you look closely, the corn on the left has been cultivated, where the corn on the right has yet to be completed.

Cultivating is where the farmer drives through a field with a mini plow of sorts. It has small diggers on it that fit between the corn rows. Farmers do this to break up the soil so the corn can get some oxygen. In a week, the corn will be greener and taller!

Thanks for reading!

Alyssa B.

Leave a Reply

