Rock USA Creates a Bad Case of the Mondays

Well hello there world! It feels like it’s been a while since I’ve typed on something other than my phone! I am still recovering from three consecutive late nights of hard core American rock and roll at the second annual Rock USA festival in Oshkosh, WI.

Needless to say, it was awesome. I saw a handful of my favorite bands including Shinedown, Skillet, Papa Roach, Motley Crue, Seether and Hollywood Undead. I also had the privilege of hearing my Uncle Bobby’s band Hyde perform on the main stage! It was cool seeing his head magnified on the big screens. I would recommend going for next year’s to anyone who is in the area!

My Uncle Bob is the singer! He’s really good, by the way! Hit up their site here!

As I was home in time for chores last night, it was interesting getting back into the swing of farm things. (Don’t misunderstand, I am happy to be home. Seeing all sorts of alcohol, tattoos and pink hair can wear on a person more acclimated to grass and cows.

Dad finished filling the silo with hay all on his lonesome this weekend, but today we crawled up it to cover the top with a tarp. We do this so that the silage doesn’t spoil. All we have to do is pick up the tarp again when we are ready to feed.

We did odd jobs today, which was good for me since I was still tired. Dad worked on our 3150 John Deere, Nathan took apart a chopper box and I did a conglomeration of yard work. The lawn is freshly mowed, the garden completely weeded and the pine trees all trimmed.

The heat was tiring on us and the cows, but we are still alive. (We are currently in an extreme heat warning.) Drink lots of water Wisco residents!

See y’all!

Alyssa B.

Leave a Reply

