A Farmer’s Extracurriculars

There is a lot to be said about the last week of life on the Bloechl Homestead Farm, but I am mainly going to focus on the fact that I was busy because farmers like to have fun too.

First, everyone should know that the five most previous days were Lincoln County’s 4-H Fair. That means, I buy a five day parking pass and hang out with all of my favorite 4-H friends in the cattle barns as much as possible. This is one of two times a year I get to be with many of my old friends at the same time. (My friends, Holly and Kassie, host a bonfire every summer, and that is the second time I get to be with my farming friends!)

The fair was as expected. Smelling of cattle, deep fried food and hot. Also, the crazies come out. I honestly don’t know where some of these people come from… let’s just say it was another good year. 4-H has been a huge part of my life and without it, I wouldn’t be the person I am. I also wouldn’t have the lasting friendships, excellent memories and hard lessons learned without it. This program is fantastic for any child, and it holds opportunities that are more than for farm kids. My own brother learned how to bake and grow vegetables while I learned about leading cows and the art of crochet. Enroll your children, trust me.

Speaking of vegetables….

My garden is doing fabulously! Thanks to care and a lot of weeding and watering, my sweet corn is taller than me, is tasseling and is forming some cobs. My tomato plant has a lot of green tomatoes, and hopefully they will ripen in the next week. My lettuce, potatoes, and onions are also doing very well. But, the most exciting news is that I have two, yes TWO, sunflowers that have bloomed! It’s way early, but they are beautiful.

This is how we wrap our silage bales. They are placed in the wrapper, which triggers a pusher to push the bales through revolving plastic rolls. This way the hay is out of the sun and is allowed to ferment.

Dad and I rushed to bale and wrap some hay before the weekend. We did more today, and are at a total of a 26 acre second hay cutting. Fortunately we, unlike the rest of the country, are getting enough rain to get this much hay. Our corn is tasseling, our beans are flowering and our oats are maturing very well.

The lack of rain is evident to other Wisconsin farmers just south of our area in North Central Wisconsin. We are lucky to have a clay loam type of soil which retains water well, while to the South, their soil is more fine and unable to hold water for as long.

The soy beans, looking a beautiful as ever. They have started flowering and will soon have pods!

Our awesome corn. Its doing well, but to the south corn is stunted, brown and failing. We are very lucky we have gotten enough rain.

There are many devastating effects of extreme heat and drought on the agricultural industry. I plan on discussing more for the rest of the week. I plan to touch on the food market, imports/exports, failing farms, economics and anything else I find necessary to share with my readers. There are many things that consumers will need to be aware in the near future.

Please stick with me!

Alyssa B.

The tiger lilies finally bloomed! Be jealous.

Leave a Reply

