Front Left, Right? Obscure Reflections from the Farm

Image

A curious little baby girl enjoying the warm sunshine last Sunday morning!

After a desperate sounding phone call from my Dad, I went home for the weekend to work. To my delight, that is exactly what I did. On the farm, due to poor weather conditions, they are a few weeks behind in making hay. The silo is full and there are some silage bales made, but a lot of dry hay is yet to be made.

Long story short, the cows were yet to be milked Friday night when I arrived home around 7 p.m. No worries, we got it done, and all was well. They were just a little uncomfortable. After we did finally finish chores, we headed back out onto the field to move the freshly made hay. We worked diligently until after 10:30 p.m. Then, we were up bright (I should say dark) and early around 4:45 a.m. to move the rest of it.

I watched the sunrise for the first time in a while. Photographic evidence below. Yep, that light is the sun.

ImageI felt whole again to be home, working with my Dad. It seems that time away from my grassroots is more painful than it seems. My Mother is also someone who I need more than I admit. It was just the three of us and the pup, and it was nice to connect with them. We haven’t spent time together like that since May during my college graduation.

My reflection:Farm chores are hard, sweaty, smelly and exponentially tiring. Farm chores are also fun, relaxing and a great workout. Without doing some physical hard work, I would be aloof to my morals and connections with my family. It brings you down off of the virtual high we partake in too much.

I hope one day, my children will be able to learn about working together, working hard and working smart like I did. Because then they would get to see things like this.

Image

A happy dog on a makeshift 4-wheeler chair makes it all worth it… Among many other things.

Eli and I will return to the Bloechl Homestead this weekend for a family reunion with the “Extended Bloechls.” There is also rumor of a hay bale pool. Let the shenanigans commence!

– Alyssa B.

Leave a Reply

