Chipotle, Panera, have you ever been on a farm?

Earlier this summer, I started following blogger Dairy Carrie, here, and she brought me to see some messed up marketing by Panera, and today, Chipotle.

I like Panera’s food, but I have not visited their restaurant since I read her posts. I have never been to a Chipotle, based on no regional restaurants to my home. I don’t know if I ever will.

They are using a marketing technique, basically saying that all food that comes from farms is fake, unhealthy, lied about and so on. I am deeply offended by this. Farmers work hard for what they produce. Farming techniques and regulations are the most watched over and advanced of our time. Farmers feed the world.

I have been exposed to small and large agricultural operations, I don’t think anyone from either of these places has ever stepped foot on a farm. That may or may not be true, but still, what cows are milked from the side in a metal box? OH YEAH, none.

What farmer in their right mind would do something that could would lessen the value of their product? None of them. Yes, livestock is slaughtered, and we eat it for dinner, but we aren’t dumb.

Get real and think about the impression people are getting from these advertisements. The mission is to sell more burritos and chicken sandwiches.

Thanks for reading,

Alyssa B.

p.s. Panera is a little apologetic, because they took some of their EZ Chicken stuff away. Here is what they said. You decide if it is enough. Dairy Carrie has more in the works, stay posted with her.

4 thoughts on “Chipotle, Panera, have you ever been on a farm?

  1. Keep up the good work supporting American Agriculture. It’s important for people to know what is right and what is wrong but it is our job to tell them not someone that is trying to get rich selling food through a window.

Leave a Reply

