Apple Cider Cupcake Adventure

Before I get this going, I wanted to give due credit to my crafter and baker of a friend, Megan. I called her and asked for a cupcake recipe that my boyfriend would love, this was the first one she mentioned. And it was a hit! You can see her other cool and creative recipes and shenanigans here!

I also want to give a shout out to my boyfriend’s sister-in-law, Terri! She really wanted to see this recipe, and I don’t blame her, she has great taste. She is also that cool mom who had decorated Minon themed cupcakes and cake as well as a Hello Kitty cake for her children’s birthdays! I will post those photos at the end for you!

Apple Cider Cupcakes
1 package of spice cake mix
1 1/4 cups apple cider
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3 eggs
2 cups coarsely chopped walnuts (this is a lot, use what you feel is necessary.)

Apple Cider Frosting
4 ounces of cream cheese
1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
1/4 cup apple cider
3-4 cups of powered sugar
Cinnamon

Cupcakes
1. Preheat oven to 350º. Line standard (2 1/2-inch) muffin cups with paper baking cups.
2. Beat cake mix, apple cider, oil and eggs in medium bowl with mixer at low spped until blended, beat a medium speed for 2 minutes. (I just did it with a wooden spoon until all the dry pockets were gone.)
3. Add walnuts. (I forgot to do this and filled the cups with batter. So, I sprinkeled some on top before I put them in the oven. They turned out nicely, just a little crunch on top!)
4. Pour batter evenly into cups.
5. Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center is clean. Let cool for 10 minutes in pan, then allow to cool completely.

image

Baked cupcakes with walnuts on top!

Apple Cider Frosting
1. Soften butter and cream cheese for about 35 seconds in microwave.
2. Stir together until well blended.
3. Add apple cider and mix.
4. Add cinnamon until you are content.
5. Stir in powered sugar one cup at a time until well blended.

I let the frosting sit a bit and to cool and thicken after I was done mixing it.

After the cupcakes cooled, I put the frosting in an icing decorator, which can be obtained through cutting a small corner off of a plastic bag. Push frosting out onto the cupcake in the center until it covers the whole top.

For a bit of jazz, I put cute little pumpkin toothpicks in them and placed a cinnamon stick on the ones we ate. (Those can double as flavoring in your warm apple cider!)

image

Finished with a pumpkin spice candle in the background.

Enjoy!

Now for the adorable baking creations by Terri!

image

The kiddos!

image

Bee doo bee doo!

image

Hello Kitty!

image

Minons!!!

Keep in mind, she did not order any of these, she did them all by hand!

Thanks for reading this unorthodox recipe blog!

Have a good one,
Alyssa B.

4 thoughts on “Apple Cider Cupcake Adventure

Leave a Reply

