Photo Project

Hello folks!

Thank you for returning. I am really excited about this week’s project, because I am focusing on photography! Granted, none of the photos I’ll be sharing with you have been printed, or will be, but still, I learned some things.

First, spoiler alert: Scrolling through all of the 105 different resources, I realized that there are some that I will not be able to utilize. However, I will still share what they are, how I cannot use them and how I think they could be used by others. Today’s entry will sort of be like that.

Visual Journalisms, number 22 on the list, is one of this week’s choices. It is a place where almost all photo/digital journalists can come to share the stories they capture. Reading some of the stories about what the featured photos, videos and experiences on the site, is inspiring. I have been trying to enhance my personal skills in taking photos in my personal and professional life. This is a tool to see some of the behind the scenes stories about the photographers as well, making me feel a little better about my struggles and triumphs. I encourage everyone to check it out.

Also, I learned about an app called Hipstamatic from one of the entries on Visual Journalisms. After downloading it, I decided to use it, to see the results. It took a bit of knivering, but I figured it out.

Hipsamatic photo, captured on my way to work, which is primarily eastward bound. Yep, I see the sunrise every day. I loved the clouds and ended up sharing on the Kewaunee County Star-News Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.

Hipstamatic photo, captured on my way to work, which is primarily eastward bound. Yep, I see the sunrise every day. I loved the clouds, because they were all positioned over Lake Michigan. I ended up sharing on the Kewaunee County Star-News Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.

Also, I was able to use this app to show off the frost that appeared!

I did this using the cool app, Photogrid!

I did this using the cool app, Photo Grid! It’s a handy way to share multiple photos with your friends in the form of a collage.  P.S. this tool is not on the “list,” but was brought to me by my gal pal, Megan!

Nailed it! Also, fun fact, read the “About” section on their website… the CEO and Founder is Lucas Buick, a UW-Stevens Point graduate! WISCO-AWESOMENESS UNITE!

But wait, there’s MORE!

I also decided to use number 89 on the list, Pixlr. It is a free photo editor tool that people can use overlays, stickers and cool filters. I’m working on a cool story about a local Violence Intervention Project and an upcoming event they are holding. I took some photos of their front yard. This photo was edited with PixlrExpress+.

They are honoring Domestic Abuse Awareness Month, and they have put over 100 ribbons on a tree to represent the victims they serviced in 2012.

They are honoring Domestic Abuse Awareness Month, and they have put over 100 ribbons on a tree to represent the victims they serviced in 2012. Also, this is the before…

TA DA! The after! I think this may be newspaper worthy!

TA DA! The after! I think this may be newspaper worthy!

Also, I decided to have a bit of fun! This was edited with Pixlromatic.

Before...

Before…

After shenanigans!

After shenanigans! This kind of photo is not typical of a newspaper to publish.

Pixlr also has a photo of the day they feature, who knows, maybe you will be chosen!

I hope these tools will become of use to you!

Thank you for reading!

Alyssa B.

P.S. Check out Megan’s blog here, if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

