My Love of History (ians)

Happy Friday!

Today I wanted to talk about an interesting group I have encountered while working on the journalist trail. That is the dedicated group of people who work at the Kewaunee County Historial Society.

Arletta Bertrand, Tom Schuler, Jerry Abitz, Nellie De Baker and Richard Dorner. These five people have opened me up to new ideas, research techniques and a new passion for history.

Here we have Edward, Tom, Jerry and Nellie! Adorbes, right? Arletta is hiding behind me when I took this, but she is just as cute!

Here we have Edward, Tom, Jerry and Nellie! Adorbes, right? Arletta is hiding behind me when I took this, but she is just as cute!

I have met with each of them a few times now for quite an array of different topics, and I just can’t stop thinking about what they do and the passion they have for their home’s vast history.

When talking to them about something at the History Center, I find myself becoming fully engrossed with whatever the subject. At some point I then I have to drag myself away from them, unwillingly. Each of them are so fun and interesting!

The cool thing about each of them is that they travel the world to look for information about their family histories! What? YEAH! (So cool, she whispers…)

I hope that we can become closer friends, even though they are mostly double my age. Luckily for me, the History Center is less than one block away from my office.

I find them to be a great asset and perk to my job. So, Arletta, Jerry, Tom, Nellie and Edward, thank you. I can’t wait to publish next month’s story about the History of Kewaunee County, becuase that means I’ll get to see most of you!

Alyssa B.

To see more about thier work, visit them online! http://www.kewauneecountyhistory.com

Leave a Reply

