Cold Temps = Warm Stuff

It’s cold. Negative temps and negative wind chills add up to a legitimately frozen nose. And fingers. And toes.

My Papa wouldn’t be caught dead out of doors working with the cows without a few essentials. I’ve realized I’ve become my father in the things I need, and I have a cushy desk job.

Long johns and Leggings

For as long as I’ve been alive, my Dad has insisted that long johns were a necessity under jeans on bitter days like today. I’ve come to see that light and have been caught slinking my pants over a pair of leggings these last few days.

Hot Breakfast

I know that my old man has a hot breakfast, be it eggs or a hamburger, after he’s done with morning chores on nasty winter days. I have been eating different forms of oatmeal, against my better judgement, as of late to prepare me for a day like this.

Flannel over T-Shirts

This may not sound like a big revelation, but wearing a long sleeve flannel over a t-shirt or blouse, in my case, is a full proof way of keeping those arms goosebump free. I say flannel rather than a sweatshirt, because the material is both functional and stylish.

Bag Balm

Go to Fleet Farm, find the farm aisle and look for a little green can of Bag Balm. It’s made to use on cow udders when they get dry or swollen, but humans can use it too! Rub a dub some of that salve on your hands and beat dry skin like a cow. It also smells lightly of peppermint.

What are your favorite cold weather necessities? Even if you aren’t a farmer, I still want to know how you stay warm.

Until then, I honestly can’t think of anything better or more interesting to write. Hope all of you Wisconsinites are staying warm! The rest of you not suffering this bitter January, well, good for you.

Alyssa B.

“The sun did not shine. It was too wet to play. So we sat in the house. All that cold, cold, wet day.”
Dr. Seuss, The Cat in the Hat

2 thoughts on “Cold Temps = Warm Stuff

Leave a Reply

